Tuesday Thoughts! – June 10th, 2014

Image

In discussing with several people over the last couple of days concerning Jesus text in John 7:37 – 39, I was reminded of the exchange between The Lion and Jill Pole in the Silver Chair:

“Are you not thirsty” said the Lion

“I’m dyng of thirst”said Jill

Then drink said the Lion

“My I – could I – would you mind going away while I do?” said Jill

The Lion answered this only by a look and very low growl.  And as Jill gazed at its motionless bulk, she realized that she might as well have asked the whole mouton to move aside for her convenience.  The delicious reapplying noice of the sreaem was dring her nearly frantic.  

 

“Will you promisenot to – do anything to me, If I do come”  said Jill

“I make no promise” said the Lion

Jill was so thirst now that, without noticing it, she had come a step nearer.

“Do you eat girls” she said

“I have swallowed up girls and boys, women and men, kings and emperors, cities and realms.” said the Lion.  It didn’t say this as if it were boasting, or as if it were sorry, nor as if it were angry.”  It just said it.

I daren’t come and drink,” said Jill

Then you will die of thirst- said the Lion

“Oh dear!” said Jill, coming another step nearer.

I suppose I must go and look for another stream then.”

“There is no other stream” said the Lion.

It never occurred to Jill to disbelieve the Lion- no one who had seen his stern face could do that – and her mind suddenly made itself up.  It was the worst thing she had ever had todo, but she went forward to the stream, knelt down and began scooping water in her hand.  It was the coldest, most refreshing water she had ever tasted.”

You see – When you come to the water, you are coming to a Lion, you must come on the Lion’s terms, and you have to come yourself by faith in order to get the Water.  Some reading this more than likely need to realize that they are thirsty, that they need that water so badly that we are going to die without it.  I encourage you to step out in faith yielding to the Lion of Judah – Jesus Christ, and receive the gift of eternal life.  

& as we do, we have satisfying results!

Whoever believes in me, as the Scripture has said, ‘Out of his heart will flow rivers of living water.’”

 

?’s  1)  Are you thirsty to receive the gift of Jesus Christ?

        2)  Are you satisfied in Him?  Is your satisfaction flowing out to others?

 

Leave a Reply

